Cleansing balm – GOODNESS Break-Up Make-Up Balm review

goodnesscleansingbalm01

GOODNESS Make-Up Break-Up Balm. Yes, I dropped it and the packaging has a dent.

In Korean skincare, double cleansing in the PM is essential. Skincare expert Caroline Hirons is also an advocate of the double cleansing method. A cleansing balm or cleansing oil is the first step of the double cleansing method. Balms or oils are recommended as they dissolve makeup and SPF easily.

So I was on the hunt for a cleansing balm or cleansing oil. Chemist Warehouse had the GOODNESS Break-Up Make-Up Balm on sale so I snatched it up. GOODNESS is a New Zealand based company that creates affordable products filled with ingredients from nature.

After one use I realised this was a HG product. It smells pleasant and feels luxurious on the skin. But what makes it HG status for me is that it did not sting my eyes nor make them blurry. It was available for $9.99 AUD at Chemist Warehouse – but now when clicking on the link it says “This product is no longer available online” 😰. I suggest check in store and ask about the product. It retails for $16.95 AUD on adorebeauty (free shipping).

goodnesscleansingbalm02

As it does not emulsify I wet a microfibre facial cloth (remember to use a fresh one each day!) in lukewarm water to remove the balm from my face. In regards to removing eye makeup I put some of the balm on the cloth and I hold the cloth over the eye area and gently press until the makeup disappears (do not rub or drag!) .

The balm is 80ml and the low price for the good quality is what makes it stand out from other balms. If you live in New Zealand or Australia consider yourself lucky we have this gem available to us! I will certainly be repurchasing this product.

Pros – excellent price compared to other balm cleansers, great quality with lovely ingredients

Cons (sort of) – does not emulsify (not ideal for travelling, fine when at home and can use a wash cloth to wipe off), expires in 6 months due to a lack of preservatives (good if you are wary, or allergic to certain preservatives but I’m good with preservatives).

UPDATE: I have repurchased this product. With daily use I finished it within 5-6 months.

 

(For reference – I have normal to oily, acne-prone skin).

Standard

Leave a Reply

